The Department of Health and Senior Services, Section for Long-Term Care Regulation is responsible for inspecting and issuing state licenses to residential care facilities (RCF and RCF*), assisted living facilities (ALF and ALF**), intermediate care facilities (ICF), and skilled nursing facilities (SNF). The Section also performs activities at intermediate care and skilled nursing facilities in order to certify them to provide services to eligible Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries.

There are approximately 1,165 long-term care facilities with more than 81,100 beds licensed and inspected by the Section. Of these facilities, there are 504 skilled nursing facilities, 24 intermediate care facilities, 369 residential care facilities, and 268 assisted living facilities. The Section also inspects 11 hospital-based long-term care units. Approximately 500 facilities participate in the Federal Medicaid and/or Medicare programs.

The Licensure and Certification Unit maintains the responsibility for licensing these long-term care facilities and for certifying those facilities participating in the Medicare and/or Medicaid programs. The Unit receives applications for licensure and certification, issues licenses to facilities meeting licensure criteria, certifies facilities for Medicare/Medicaid participation, and maintains state and federal databases.


Licensed Facility Directory - excel
Licensed Facility Directory - pdf
Licensed Facility Directory by City
Licensed Facility Directory by County
Licensed Facility Directory by Region

Show-Me Long Term Care
Locate a Missouri long term care facility and view inspection results for state licensed facilities by county, city, or zip code.

Alzheimer's Special Care Unit Directory

Adult Day Care Directory

Adult Day Care Programs

For more information on nursing home licensing and certification, visit our Frequently Asked Questions or contact us.