• Birth Registration Process Change
    The Missouri Bureau of Vital Records is changing the process for entering and registering birth certificates in instances when children are born out of wedlock or when the mother is married but not married to the father of the baby. Effective February 01, 2021, in these instances, you will no longer add the father to the record in MoEVR. You will register the record without the father and send in paternity affidavits and/or husband’s denial if applicable. The father then will be amended onto the record after registration in accordance with state law. The marital status that should be selected should be either “Yes, but not to the father” or “No, doesn’t provide father’s information”. In other instances, such as when the mother is married to the father of the child, there is no change in policy, and the father’s information will be added as normal.

    All paternity related documents can be accessed on our website: https://health.mo.gov/IVrecords/#collapseFive Note: This is temporary guidance. The Bureau of Vital Records has redesigned the Mother’s Worksheet, Facility Worksheet, and the Missouri Electronic Vital Records (MoEVR) system is currently being updated to reflect these new policy changes. As always, if you need assistance or have any questions with this new process, please contact the Bureau of Vital Records: MoEVRsupport@health.mo.gov or 573-751-6387, Option 4.

  • Electronic and Remote Online Notarization (RON) Now Accepted
    While electronic and remote notarization is acceptable, other standard requirements still apply in completing the application process and the correction affidavit process. For more information on submitting electronic or remote notarizations, email: VitalRecordsInfo@health.mo.gov or call 573-751-6387.

    In Missouri, traditional, electronic, and remote online notarization (RON) of applications/documents, including correction affidavits, are now accepted by the Missouri Bureau of Vital Records. For electronic or remote notarization, only vendors approved by the Missouri Secretary of State will be accepted. For more information regarding approved vendors, visit: https://www.sos.mo.gov/ElectronicNotary.

    While electronic and remote notarization is acceptable, other standard requirements still apply in completing the application process and the correction affidavit process. For more information on submitting electronic or remote notarizations, email: VitalRecordsInfo@health.mo.gov or call 573-751-6387.

  • New Law Changing Death Certificate Fees
    Effective August 28, 2020, with the Governor’s recent signing of HB 2046, the fee collected for each death certificate will increase by $1.00 to $14.00 for the first certified copy. The fee for each additional certified copy, ordered at the same time, will also increase by $1.00 to $11.00.

  • COVID-19
    State law requires all medical certifiers who certify death certificates in Missouri to use the Missouri Electronic Vital Records (MoEVR) system. Also, due to the ongoing COVID pandemic, it is critical to ensure all medical certifiers are registered and using MoEVR.

    If you have not already, please register immediately. For assistance, please call (573) 751-6387 - Option 4 or email MoEVRsupport@health.mo.gov.