Joplin, Independence, Kansas City & Eastern Jackson County

For data from the birth and death certificates, each city is assigned a code using city limit boundaries.

For data from other sources, where city limit information (city code) is not available, the following definitions are used:

Joplin includes ZIP codes 64801 and 64804, except that for 2005 and beyond, data from hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers define Joplin by census tracts, which more closely align with the Joplin city limits. The two ZIP codes include some areas outside of Joplin; therefore, MICAs and Profiles that use health care facility data may show lower rates for some indicators in 2005 and beyond than in earlier years.
Independence includes the following ZIP codes: 64050 through 64053 and 64055 through 64057.
Kansas City includes the following ZIP codes: 64101, 64102, 64105, 64106, 64108 through 64114, 64116, 64117, 64119, 64120, 64123 through 64134, 64136, 64137, 64139, 64145 through 64147, 64149, 64151, 64153 through 64158, 64165, and 64192.

Eastern Jackson County is defined as Jackson County excluding the areas defined as Kansas City and Independence.

Note: ZIP codes 64133 and 64138 are both divided roughly evenly between the cities of Kansas City and Raytown. We chose to include ZIP code 64133 in Kansas City and include ZIP code 64138 in Eastern Jackson County as a compromise.

Map of Independence/Kansas City/Eastern Jackson County by ZIP code, as described above.