As described by the Missouri Department of Social Services, the purpose of MO HealthNet is to purchase and monitor health care services for low income and vulnerable citizens of the State of Missouri. The agency assures quality health care through development of service delivery systems, standards setting and enforcement, and education of providers and participants. The MO HealthNet Division is fiscally accountable for maximum and appropriate utilization of resources.

The MO HealthNet (Medicaid) MICA provides data about this recipient pool of Missouri residents based on county of residence, not county of services.

Geography/Managed Care Regions and Medicaid Districts

MO Healthnet MICA has two additional geography types not available in other MICAs. They are Managed Care Regions and Medicaid Districts. The following tables show the counties served in each of these geography types.

Managed Care Region Missouri Counties Served
Central Audrain, Benton, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Chariton, Cole, Cooper, Gasconade, Howard, Laclede, Linn, Macon, Maries, Marion, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Saline, Shelby
Eastern Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, Madison, Perry, Pike, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis City, St. Louis County, Ste. Genevieve, Warren, Washington
Fee-For-Service Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Buchanan, Butler, Caldwell, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Clark, Clinton, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, DeKalb, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Gentry, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Knox, Lawrence, Lewis, Livingston, McDonald, Mercer, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Putnam, Reynolds, Ripley, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Wayne, Webster, Worth, Wright
Western Bates, Cass, Cedar, Clay, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte, Polk, Ray, St. Clair, Vernon
Medicaid District Missouri Counties Served
Central Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Howard, Laclede, Lincoln, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Warren, Washington
Eastern Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, St. Louis City, St. Louis County,
Northeast Adair, Chariton, Clark, Grundy, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Monroe, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan
Northwest Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Harrison, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Nodaway, Platte, Ray, Worth
Southeast Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Texas, Wayne, Wright
Southwest Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster