May 31, 2017
Statement from the Director of the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Since 1979, Missouri law has required providers of abortion services and those who treat abortion complications to report every complication they diagnose or treat after an abortion to the Department of Health and Senior Services within 45 days.
It has recently come to my attention that this law was not complied with under previous administrations.
This is unacceptable.
As soon as I became aware of this problem, the Department of Health and Senior Services took steps to ensure future compliance with the law and understanding of the importance of these reports.
As a board-certified obstetrician and gynecologist who practiced for 30 years, I recognize that every procedure including abortion has recognized risks and potential complications. By the standard of care, these risks should be discussed with the patient prior to the procedure. And when the law requires complications to be reported, each and every complication should be reported.
The Department of Health and Senior Services will rigorously enforce this law in the future.
Randall W. Williams, MD, FACOG