Medical Marijuana in Missouri:

Medical marijuana uses the marijuana plant or
chemicals in it for the benefit of a qualifying
patient to mitigate the symptoms or effects

of the patient’s qualifying medical condition.

It must contain tetrahydrocannabinol (THC)
content of greater than 0.3% on a dry weight
basis. Medical marijuana is not the same as
hemp extract, which contains less than 0.3%
THC.

Applications for medical marijuana patient
and/or caregiver licenses are only accepted
through the official online registry that is
accessible at www.medicalmarijuana.mo.gov.
Only the Missouri Department of Health and
Senior Services (DHSS) has the authority to
issue licenses to qualifying patients and/or
their caregivers for the purpose of possessing
and purchasing medical marijuana. Please

be advised that DHSS has 30 days to process
applications from the date of submission.

Licensed patients and/or their licensed
caregiver can purchase medical marijuana
from a Missouri licensed dispensary. Medical
marijuana products sold at dispensaries
must have passed all required safety testing
and comply with packaging and labeling
requirements.

Only physicians who are licensed and in good
standing to practice medicine or osteopathy
under Missouri law may, but are not mandated
to, certify qualifying patients. The practice of
medicine or osteopathy means practice by
persons who hold a license pursuant to Chapter
334, RSMo, including those who are admitted
to practice in Missouri by reciprocity pursuant
to section 334.043, RSMo.

As a physician, you will be asked to:

e Meet with and examine the patient.

e Review the patient’s medical records or
medical history and the patient’s current
medications and allergies to medications.

e Discuss with the patient, or the patient’s
custodial parent or legal guardian, the
patient’s current symptoms.

e In the case of a non-emancipated patient
under the age of 18, obtain the written
consent of a custodial parent or legal
guardian who will serve as a primary
caregiver for the patient.

e Create a medical record for the patient
documenting the meeting and maintain
the qualifying patient’s medical record as
required in 334.097 RSMo.

e Discuss with the patient, or the patient’s
custodial parent or legal guardian, risks
associated with medical marijuana
including known contraindications
applicable to the patient.

Discuss with the patient, or the patient’s
custodial parent or legal guardian, the
risks of medical marijuana use to a fetus
and the risks of medical marijuana use to
breastfeeding infants.

e Complete the Physician Certification Form
attesting it is your opinion the patient

suffers from a qualifying medical condition.

Patient Qualifications:
e Be a Missouri resident.
e Have a qualifying medical condition.

The Physician Certification Form:

e |s not a prescription, but an attestation
that the qualifying patient has a qualifying
medical condition.

e |srequired annually for patient licensure.

e Must be completed in its entirety and
signed by the physician.

e Cannot be issued by the physician more
than thirty (30) days prior to the patient
submitting their online application.

Qualifying patients, who need more than four
ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana, or its
equivalency, in a 30-day period, must obtain
two independent physician certifications that
specify what other amount is needed (19 CSR
30-95.030(2)(A)(5)B).

DHSS does not maintain a list of physicians or
refer patients to physicians willing to certify
patients.

Patients should consider discussing benefits,
risks, potential side-effects, and interactions
with other medications when determining their
treatment regimen. Each individual experiences
the effects of THC differently, and the effects

of THC can be faster or slower depending on
method of consumption. Thus, it is a good
practice for patients to keep a marijuana-use
log to periodically review with their physician

in order to help establish their ideal marijuana
treatment regimen.



Qualifying Medical Conditions:

Cancer.

Epilepsy.
Glaucoma.

Intractable migraines unresponsive to other
treatment.

A chronic medical condition that causes
severe, persistent pain or persistent

muscle spasms, including but not limited

to those associated with multiple sclerosis,
seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s
syndrome.

Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including,
but not limited to, post-traumatic stress
order, if diagnosed by a state licensed
psychiatrist.

Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired
immune deficiency syndrome.

A chronic medical condition that is normally
treated with a prescription medication

that could lead to physical or psychological
dependence, when a physician determines
that medical use of marijuana could be
effective in treating that condition and
would serve as a safer alternative to the
prescription medication.

A terminal illness.

In the professional judgment of a physician,
any other chronic, debilitating or other
medical condition, including, but not
limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral
sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease,
Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease,
autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia,
agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia,
and wasting syndrome.

Contact us at:

The Missouri Department of Health
and Senior Services

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102

medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

email: MedicalMarijuanalnfo@health.mo.gov
Main number: 573-751-6234

(8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday)

Toll-free Call Center: 866-219-0165
(8:30 a.m. — 3:30 p.m., Monday-Friday)

An EO/AA employer: Services provided on a nondiscriminatory basis.
Individuals who are deaf, hard-of-hearing, or have a
speech disability can dial 711 or 1-800-735-2966.
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Physician Information

Article XIV Section 1: Right to Access
Medical Marijuana amended the
Missouri Constitution on December 6,
2018.

Article XIV Section 1 allows patients with
qualifying medical conditions the right to
discuss freely with their physicians the possible
benefits of medical marijuana use, the right

of their physicians to provide professional
advice concerning the same, and the right to
use medical marijuana for treatment under the
supervision of a physician.

A physician shall not be subject to criminal

or civil liability or sanctions under Missouri
law or discipline by the Missouri State Board
of Registration for the Healing Arts, or its
successor agency, for owning, operating,
investing in, being employed by, or contracting
with any entity licensed or certified pursuant to
this section or issuing a physician certification
to a patient diagnosed with a qualifying
medical condition in a manner consistent with
this section and legal standards of professional
conduct.



