
 
Title 19--DEPARTMENT OF 

HEALTH AND SENIOR SERVICES 
Division 30--Division of Regulation and Licensure 

Chapter 61--Licensing Rules for Family 
[Day]Child Care Homes 

 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
19 CSR 30-61.055 [License Renewal]Annual Requirements. The department is amending the 
chapter name and rule title, deleting sections (1) through (4), and adding new sections (1) and (2).  
 

PURPOSE: The amendment replaces the license renewal process with a similar annual 
compliance process. The amendment adds the new Annual Declaration for Licensed Facilities 
form. 

 [(1) An application for license renewal shall be filed at least sixty (60) days prior to expiration of 
the license. In addition, the following information is required:  

(A) Evidence of compliance with a fire and safety inspection as conducted by the State Fire 
Marshal or his/her designee; 
(B) Evidence of compliance with local, state, or both, sanitation requirements; 
(C) Medical examination reports on file at the home as required by 19 CSR 30-61.125 Medical 
Examination Reports; 
(D) A health report on file at the home for each school-age child in care as required by 19 
CSR 30-61.125 Medical Examination Reports; 
(E) Enrollment information on file at the home for each child in care as required by 19 CSR 
30-61.135 Admission Policies and Procedures; 
(F) Identifying information on file at the home regarding each child in care who is related to 
the provider and not living in the home as required by 19 CSR 30-61.135 Admission Policies 
and Procedures; 
(G) A current list of available equipment;  
(H) Materials and information which have changed since the previous licensing period; 
(I) Documentation as required by the Missouri Secretary of State and state law to verify the 
legal entity is in good standing if a family day care home is owned by a legal entity; 
(J) A completed Safety Plan form if a sex offender resides within 1,000 feet of the facility. See 
Safety Plan form, promulgated as of 2018 and incorporated by reference in this rule. As 
published by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, PO Box 570, Jefferson 
City, MO 65102-0570 and available by the department at 
https://health.mo.gov/safety/childcare/forms.php. This rule does not incorporate any 
subsequent amendments or additions. If the provider has an existing safety plan a new form is 
not required. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions; and 
(K) A listing of household members.] 

 

(1) The provider shall submit the following to the department on an annual basis, at least 
thirty (30) calendar days prior to the anniversary date as printed on the license:  



(A) An Annual Declaration for Licensed Facility form, promulgated as of 2020 and 
incorporated by reference in this rule. As published by the Missouri Department of 
Health and Senior Services, PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 and available 
by the department at https://health.mo.gov/safety/childcare/forms.php indicating the 
licensee’s intent to continue operating a licensed family child care home and agreement 
to comply with all statutes and department licensing rules; 
(B) A current list of available equipment; 
(C) A listing of household members and assistant(s); and 
(D) A completed safety plan if a sex offender resides within 1,000 feet of the facility. If 
the provider has an existing safety plan, a new plan is not required.  

[(2) The child care provider shall conduct a Family Care Safety Registry check for all child care 
staff members within sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the license.] 

(2) The provider shall have the following on file and available for review: 
    (A) Evidence of compliance with a fire and safety inspection as conducted by the State 

Fire Marshal or his/her designee; 
 (B) Evidence of compliance with local, state, or both, sanitation requirements;  
   (C) The child care provider shall conduct a Family Care Safety Registry check for all 

child care staff members within thirty (30) days prior to the anniversary date as printed 
on the license; and  

    (D) Documentation as required by the Missouri Secretary of State and state law to verify 
the legal entity is in good standing, if a family child care home is owned by a legal entity. 

[(3) Child care staff members shall have qualifying background screening results on file as 
required by 19 CSR 30-63.020 General Requirements, prior to renewal of the license.  

(4) Upon determination of the applicant’s continued compliance with state statutes and licensing 
rules for family day care homes, an official license shall be granted for up to two (2) years.] 

AUTHORITY: section 210.221.1(3), RSMo [2016]Supp. 2020[, and section 210.1080, RSMo 
Supp. 2018].* This rule previously filed as 13 CSR 40-61.031, 13 CSR 40-61.055, and 19 CSR 40-
61.055. Original rule filed March 29, 1991, effective Oct. 31, 1991. Changed to 19 CSR 40-61.055, 
effective Dec. 9, 1993. Changed to 19 CSR 30-61.055 July 30, 1998. Amended: Filed Feb. 18, 
1999, effective Sept. 30, 1999. Emergency amendment filed Feb. 15, 2019, effective Feb. 25, 2019, 
expired Aug. 23, 2019. Amended: Filed Feb. 15, 2019, effective Aug. 30, 2019. Emergency 
amendment filed Aug. 31, 2020, effective Sept. 15, 2020, expires March 13, 2021Amended: filed 
Aug. 31, 2020. 

*Original authority: 210.221.1(3), RSMo 1949, amended 1955, 1987, 1993, 1995, 1999, 2015, 
2019, 2020. 

 
PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will cost state agencies or political subdivisions less 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00) in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will cost private entities $9,745.92 annually in the 
aggregate. 



NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition 
to this amended rule with Nancy Scherer, Department of Health and Senior Services, Section for 
Child Care Regulation, PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing 573-526-5345, or via 
e-mail at Nancy.Scherer@health.mo.gov .  To be considered, comments must be received within 
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is 
scheduled. 
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FISCAL NOTE 
PUBLIC COST 

 
I. Department Title:  Title 19 – Department of Health and Senior Services 

Division Title:  Division 30 – Division of Regulation and Licensure 
Chapter Title:  Chapter 61 – Licensing Rules for Family Day Care Homes 
 

Rule Number and 
Name: 

19 CSR 30-61.055 Annual Requirements 
 

Type of 
Rulemaking: 

Proposed Amendment 
 

 
 

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT 
 

Estimated Cost to Complete 
Annual Requirements per 
Provider 

Estimated Number of Providers 
Required to Complete Annual 
Requirements  

Total Estimated Cost of 
Annual Requirements Across 
Missouri Annually 

$11.28 864 $9,745.92 
 
 

III. WORKSHEET 
 

ESTIMATED TOTAL COST TO COMPLETE ANNUAL REQUIREMENTS 
Total Cost to Complete Annual Requirements  $11.28 
Total Number of Providers Required to Complete Annual Requirements  864 
Total Public Cost  $9,745.92 

 
Methodology: Total Cost to Complete Annual Requirements * Total Number of Providers Required 

to Complete Annual Requirements = Total Public Cost 
 

ESTIMATED COST TO COMPLETE ANNUAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FACILITIES 
Document Time 

Estimate 
(Hours) 

Average 
Hourly Wage 
of Missouri 

Unemployment, 
Social Security, 
Payroll Taxes, 
and 
Workers’ Comp 

Total Cost per 
Child Care 
Provider 

Annual Declaration for  
Licensed Facility form 

.25 $13.05 17% $3.81 

Current list of available 
equipment 

.16 $13.05 17% $2.44 

Listing of household 
members and assistant(s  

.08 $13.05 17% $1.22 

Family Care Safety  
Registry screening resul  
for all child care staff 
members 

.25 $13.05 17% $3.81 

TOTALS .74   $11.28 
 



Methodology: (Average Hourly Wage * Time Estimate) * Employer Expenses = Total Cost per 
Child Care Provider  

 
IV. ASSUMPTIONS 

 
1. The average wage comes from the 2018 average wage for Child Care Workers in 
Missouri available from the Missouri Department of Economic Development ($11.29) 
plus estimated inflation. No additions were made to this number for items such as 401k 
contributions or other fringe benefits because those are not an industry standard for child 
care workers.  
 
2. Time estimates for the documents that must be completed to meet the annual 
requirements are estimated by the Department of Health and Senior Services for the 
minimum amount of time necessary to review, compile and/or update, and submit the 
necessary documents.  
 
The time estimates seen here are based on the following assumptions: 
Annual Declaration for a Licensed Facility 
form 

0.25 hours (15 minutes) was allotted for 
this based on the fact that this is a one-page 
fillable form requesting identifying 
information. The provider is required to 
review, sign, date, and return the form to 
the department.  

Current list of available equipment .16 hours (10 minutes) was allotted for this 
because an equipment list is required for 
initial licensure. Child care providers 
should routinely update this list and keep it 
current for insurance and departmental 
purposes. The department currently 
requires a list of available equipment at 
renewal (once every two years). 

Listing of household members and 
assistant(s) 

.08 hours (5 minutes) was allotted for this 
because a listing of household member and 
assistant(s) is required for initial licensure. 
Child care providers are currently required 
to notify the department of any changes in 
household members and assistant(s). The 
department currently requires a list of 
household members and assistant(s) at 
renewal (once every two years). 

Family Care Safety  
Registry screening results for all child care 
staff members 

.25 hours (15 minutes) was allotted for this 
based on discussions with Family Care 
Safety Registry (FCSR) staff about how 
long it typically takes for a family child 
care provider when they call to request 
background screenings.  

 
3. The time estimates only include one staff member because typically only one staff 
person (e.g. owner, provider, board chairperson, LLC member or designee) completes 
documentation that is submitted to the department.  
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