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In response to your request, the Bureau of Ambulatory Care (BAC) is providing you information relative to the 
licensing of a new Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC). 

You should begin by reviewing and becoming familiar with all applicable requirements under state licensure rules, 
which can be found at https://www.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/current/19csr/19c30-30.pdf. 

General steps in the licensure process, all of which must be completed prior to issuing a license: The facility will 
need to be assigned a project number by contacting HSLCARP@health.mo.gov. 

1.The facility must be designed, constructed and equipped from plans that have been reviewed and approved by 
the Department of Health and Senior Services Engineering Consultation Unit (ECU) as being in compliance with 
all applicable standards established in 19 CSR 30-30.030 and 19 CSR 30-30.040.

• Contact with the ECU should be one of, if not your very first step in the process. Contact the ECU by 
phone at 573-526-8524, or you may contact David East or Carrie Schaumburg by email at
ECU@health.mo.gov.

• They will do onsite visits for the construction at approximately 50% and 80% completion.

2.Submission of the ASC application, fee, addendum and organizational chart to the Bureau of Ambulatory Care 
at BAC@health.mo.gov and can be found at https://health.mo.gov/safety/asc/index.php.

3.The application must be sent at least 30-60 days before the initial licensure survey and will only be active for a
12-month period. Must reapply at that time. The license application must be completed, signed and notarized, and
returned to the Bureau of Ambulatory Care with complete documentation as indicated on the attachments and
accompanied by the required annual licensing fee of $200. Please make checks payable to the Department of
Health and Senior Services.

4. If the facility will have controlled substances onsite they may apply for registration from the Bureau of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs (BNDD) and DEA to order narcotics. The registration will be processed once an ASC
license has been issued. BNDD can be contacted at 573-751-6321. For more information about BNDD see
http://health.mo.gov/safety/bndd/.

5. Ensure the facility has applied for and received a certificate to perform laboratory testing from the Clinical
Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA) program. "Laboratory services shall be under the direction of a physician
member of the medical staff' as described at 19 CSR 30-30.020 (1)(4). The CLIA lab program can be contacted at
573-751-6318. For more information see http://www.health.mo.gov/safety/outpatienthealthcare/index.php.

6. Onsite initial licensure survey to obtain a license to operate as an ASC must be successfully completed before
patient care may be offered. The facility must ensure all components to provide patient care are in place and
ready to deliver patient care, including but not limited to medications (non-controlled substances), policies,
orientation of staff and all equipment are in place to schedule an onsite licensure survey. Again, an onsite initial
state licensure survey to ensure compliance with all applicable licensure regulations must occur prior to providing
services to any patient.

The application is to be accompanied by: 

PROMOTING HEAL TH AND SAFETY 
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services' vision is optimal health and safety for all Missourians, in all communities, for life. 




