2024 Annual Training

‘For Authorized Missouri WIC Retailers

<\

years

of WIC This institution is an
equal opportunity provider.

The Missouri Celebration



Overview of the training

* Purpose of WIC.

* WIC agreement.

* Training cashiers.

« WIC stocking requirements.
« WIC mapping fresh produce.
* WIC transaction procedures.
* WIC compliance.

 Claim files.

* Changes to the Missouri WIC
program.




Civil rights

In accordance with federal civil rights law and U.S.
Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations
and policies, this institution is prohibited from
discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin,
sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation),
disability, age or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights
activity.

https://www.fns.usda.gov/civil-rights



https://www.fns.usda.gov/civil-rights

WIC provides

» Supplemental food.
 Health care referrals.
* Nutrition education.

 Breastfeeding promotion
and support.




Eligibility

* Pregnant women.
 New mothers.

 Breastfeeding and
postpartum women.

* Infants.

 Children up to 5 years of
age.

* Live (or work) in Missouri.

* Meet income guidelines.




Enroliment

Who can apply for
benefits for eligible
individuals in their care?

* Mothers.
 Fathers.

» Grandparent.

» Guardians.

* Foster parents.




Customer incentives

* Per WIC federal regulations, authorized WIC retailers must offer
WIC customers the same courtesies that are offered to
non-WIC customers and vice versa.

* Authorized WIC retailers may not treat WIC customers
differently from non-WIC customers by excluding them from
In-store promotions.



Coupons, store specials and
loyalty card discounts

WIC customers must be offered the same courtesies
offered to other customers, including but not limited to,
In-store promotions, such as:

* Buy one, get one free (BOGO).

* Buy one, get one at a reduced price.

 Transaction discount ($ or % off an entire
transaction).

Store loyalty or rewards cards.

“Cents off” discount coupons.




Use of the WIC acronym

* Retailers are not authorized to
e use the WIC acronym or WIC

logo Iin advertising and other
promotional materials, in close
MISSOURI facsimiles or in the store name.

* Retailers who use the WIC
acronym or WIC logo will
recelve a violation and be

and Nutrition Servi '
and Nutrition Services required to remove the WIC
acronym or logo.




WIC Retailer Agreement

 Retailers must notify, in writing, the Missouri WIC program
60 days in advance of any store changes that affect the retailer
agreement.

* Any changes will make the WIC Retailer Agreement null and
void.

* The Missouri WIC Retailer Agreement is not transferable.

« Changes will require a new application be sent to the Missouri
WIC program.



Changes in the WIC Retailer
Agreement

-
Changes include:
« Store name.
 Store location.
« Category change.
* Ownership name.
* Change in ownership.

WIC Retailer Agreements are not guaranteed to the new owner.
New owners MUST meet ALL the selection criteria requirements to
become authorized.



Training cashiers

» Retailers must properly train all cashiers
conducting WIC transactions.

* Failure to properly train store personnel
can result in a violation.

 Point of sale systems have a training
mode function.

 Training cards are available to use during
training.



Training mode

Please contact your POS provider with questions
about the training mode.

TRAWNING




Online trainings

Missouri WIC

Retailers, Pharmacies and WIC Approved Food
Retailer Application and Forms

Manuals

WIC Approved Food

Product Submissions for WIC-Approved Food
Retailer Training

MO WIC Scoop

Retailer Frequently Asked Questions

* New/mandatory training.
* Mapping training.
 Technical assistance training.

<

MISSOURI

WIC

and Nutrition Services




Technical assistance training

A hands-on training where we will come to you!
* Register on our website.
« Email us at MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov.

+ Call us at 573-751-6204.

DHSS Home » Healthy Living = Healthy Families » WIC » WICretailer = training

Annual Training v
eLearning Training
a Technical Assistance Training

The Missouri WIC retailer team is offering you and your employees a hands-on WIC Technical Assistance (TA)
training! Training will be held regionally or at your store, depending on the interest in your area. The goal is to
equip your cashiers, managers, price coordinators and scanning coordinators with the skills to successfully complete
WIC transactions and other WIC-related items. These skills will ensure that WIC shoppers have a great shopping
experience!



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/training/
mailto:MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov
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* Infant formulas must be purchased from approved
WIC manufacturers, distributors or wholesalers.

« Approved distributors, wholesalers and manufacturers are posted
at WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer page, under retailer application and
forms.




Stocking requirements

e
Tier 1 stocking requirements: Tier 2 stocking requirements:

* Less than $65,000 in WIC « $65,000 and more in WIC
redemptions. redemptions.

« Stocking requirements that » Stocking requirements that say
say “upon request”: ‘upon request’:

» Retailers will order these » Retailers will order these
items within 72 hours if items within 72 hours if
available through retailer’s available through retailer’s
wholesaler. wholesaler.




Missouri WIC-
approved foods

Located on:
« Approved Product List
(APL).
* Approved Food List.
* WICShopper app.




Approved Product List

« Contains the approved Universal Product Codes (UPCs) and
Price Look-Up codes (PLUs), item descriptions, corresponding
category and subcategory information and effective dates of
authorization.

* Located at WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer page under
WIC-approved food.



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/foodlist/

Collecting UPCs

» WIC staff actively collect UPCs of
. food items not currently listed on
Retailers, Pharmacies, and WIC Approved Food A the Ml SSOou rl WIC APL

Retailers, Pharmacies and WIC Approved Food

Retailer Application and Forms * Instructions for submitting

Manuals

WIC Approved Food products for the Missouri WIC
Product Submissions for WIC-Approved Food APL are on WICMOGOV on the

Retailer Training .
MO WIC Scoop retailer page.

Retailer Frequently Asked Questions

Health Care Providers

Partner Organizations

Breastfeeding



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/foodlist/product-submissions.php

WIC Approved

(Wic Food List
Approved
Food List

L * Allowed food brands, sizes and

products.

* Not allowed foods.




WIC Approved Food List

Food categories listed with
Canned Beans “any brand” allowed:

Allowed: * Does not mean that any

» Any brand of plain variety beans .

+ Any brand of fat-free refried beans brand will be on the APL.

* 15-16 6z can . « Manufacturers must submit

* Regular or low sodium _
Not Allowed: their food products for
consideration.

» Baked

*» Soup or mixed
» Organic
» Seasoned




WIC Approved Food List

Troubleshooting:
« Keep a WIC Approved Food List at each register.

» Use the list when a customer asks why a food item isn’t
showing up on their redemption receipt.




WICShopper app

EWICShopper
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Milestones  Calculator  Calculator

A great resource to check if an item is
WIC-approved.

* Install the app.

» Select Missouri as your
WIC state agency.

» Scan the item’s barcode to identify
WIC-approved foods.

* Helps identify where to place
WIC-approved shelf tags.
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MISSOURI

PPROVED




WICShopper app

From
WICShopper

app
Scan barcode | o

|
O “

m _ SCAN BARCODE

Scan Barcode




Activity 1

Using the WIC Approved Food
List, place the WIC shelf tags
under the WIC-approved foods.

MISSOURI

PPROVED




WIC mapping of
fresh produce

Est. 1974

years

of WIC

The Missouri Celebration




What is WIC mapping?

* Process of matching UPCs of fresh fruits and vegetables to
PLU codes.

* A copy of the Missouri WIC PLUs for mapping is located at
WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer page, under the WIC approved food
tab.

* The codes “4469” and “94469”, known as the generic
WIC PLU codes, are included in the Missouri WIC APL and are to
be used only by retailers who have stand-beside devices.



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/foodlist/

Who completes WIC mapping for the
store?

 Larger corporations complete

the mapping at the corporate
level.

* Independent and locally-owned
stores must complete WIC
mapping at the store level.




WIC mapping of
fresh produce

* WIC Operating Rules prohibit
WIC state agencies from
including UPCs in the APL.

* There are too many UPCs to
track effectively.

* Fresh produce items,
packaging and product
identifiers change frequently.




Why is WIC mapping necessary?

* |f fresh produce is not

mapped or mapped
incorrectly, eligible fresh fruits
and vegetables will not be
available for purchase with
WIC benefits.

« Some UPCs are regional or
retailer-generated and cannot
be added to the APL.




What fresh produce must be
mapped?

* All fresh, plain fruits and vegetables, including
precut items with UPCs.

* For example, in-store or commissary cut
fresh fruits and vegetables.

* Fresh, plain fruits and vegetables with PLUs
that are not standard International Federation
for Produce Standard (IFPS) PLUs.




What fresh produce must be
mapped?

Fresh, plain fruits and
vegetables in bags or
clamshells. For example,

» Clamshells of strawberries.
« Bag of Dole romaine lettuce.



What items should not be mapped?

A store does not map frozen produce or other WIC-approved
foods.

 Fruit and vegetable party trays with sauces or dips are not
WIC-approved and should not be mapped.




WIC mapping mixed containers

For mixed fresh produce items, choose one of the product-
specific PLUs for one of the fruit or vegetables in the package for

mapping.

This mixture of fruit can be mapped
to either “blackberries-PLU 4239,
“raspberries-PLU 4244
strawberries-PLU 3355” or
“blueberries-PLU 4240.”




WIC mapping training

For more information about
mapping fresh produce, please
take the WIC mapping training
on WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer
page, under the retailer training
tab.



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/training/

WIC transactions




WIC transaction procedures

* WIC must be the first form of payment for food items, as it is the
most restrictive tender type.

« After WIC, the customer can choose to use SNAP, credit, debit,
check, gift cards or cash to pay for items not WIC-approved.

* WIC transactions cannot be conducted in a separate liquor
section of the store, self-checkout lanes or gas station locations.



WIC transaction procedures

* Retailers must allow WIC customers to leave the store with all
food items that are deducted from the WIC card.

» Retailer employees are not allowed to act as the cashier when
redeeming WIC benefits issued to themselves or any relative.

 All WIC transactions must occur face-to-face with the customer
at the retailer’s fixed location.

* Only one WIC card can be used during each WIC transaction.



WIC transaction procedures
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WIC transaction procedures

« Cashiers are not permitted to enter the PIN into the payment
terminal on behalf of the WIC customer.

« Cashiers are not allowed to use the quantity key to scan identical
UPCs, during a WIC transaction. Each item must be scanned
separately.

« Cashiers cannot accept, approve, reject or cancel the WIC
transaction for the WIC customer.

* Only the WIC customer may touch the PIN pad during the
transaction.



WIC transaction procedures

* Retailers cannot charge a WIC
customer any fee associated
with WIC transactions.

» Retailers cannot require a
minimum purchase amount or
quantity.

» Retallers cannot require WIC
customers to purchase the full

balance of benefits available on
the WIC card.




WIC transaction procedures

* Retailers are not to require a form of identification during
the WIC transaction.

* Retailers are not allowed to confiscate WIC cards.

* Retailers are not allowed to retain WIC cards at a retailer
ocation.

o [f a WIC card is found at a retailer location:
 Call the 800 number on the back of the card.
* Report the card as lost.
* Destroy the card.




WIC transaction procedures

 Retailers are not allowed to scan a
UPC or PLU code that is not affixed

to the actual item being purchased '

by the WIC customer.

» Retailers are not allowed to
remove a UPC or PLU code from a MHH\"\HH DT
WIC-approved food item, affix the
code to a non-WIC approved item
and then scan the item.
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Balance Inquiry (Bl)

» Retailers must allow WIC customers to complete a Bl without
requiring a purchase.

 The Bl identifies what benefits are on the customer’s WIC
card.

» Used as their shopping list.
» Used to troubleshoot register errors.

» See If items were taken off the card when a reqgister
locks up in the middle of a transaction.

 BJAJLJA|N|C|E l




Integrated systems

* Integrated POS systems can conduct “mixed basket”
transactions.

* Includes both WIC-approved and non-WIC items.
* Requires more than one tender type.

* POS system automatically separates the WIC-approved
items.

* WIC customers will not have to separate their WIC and
non-WIC items at the cash register.

» Stand-beside devices will be reviewed later in the training.



Cashier procedures

 The cashier will:
 Scan all items.
* Total the sale.

» Select the WIC tender key
as the form of payment.

* The PIN pad will instruct the WIC
customer:

* \When to insert their WIC
card.

 \When to enter their PIN.




WIC transaction receipts

Two receipts will print and the cashier must hand them to the
customer.

* Beginning Balance Receipt-Shows the WIC customer's
benefits available at the transaction's beginning.

 Redemption Receipt-Shows the benefits being redeemed
during the transaction.

* WIC customers should review this receipt before
confirming the WIC transaction.




WIC transactions procedures

* The customer will press the “Yes” or “No” key on the PIN pad.
* The PIN pad will tell the customer when to remove the WIC card.

* If another form of payment is needed for non-WIC items, that
form of payment is processed next.

* The ending balance and store receipt will print and be given to
the customer.



WIC transactions procedures

* |If the WIC card is removed from the PIN pad before the
WIC transaction is finalized, the transaction will fail.

 This could cause the register to lock up.

* This could cause the benefits to be removed from the WIC
card.

* The WIC card must remain in the PIN pad until the PIN pad
advises the customer to remove the WIC card.

TRANSACTION




WIC tender voids (benefit reversal)




Paying for non-WIC food items

A balance due will exist if:
* The purchase includes non-WIC items.

* The WIC customer believes an item was WIC-approved and it is
not.

* The WIC card does not have enough benefits to purchase all
WIC items.

 Fruits and vegetables purchase goes over the allotted WIC price.

* These are the only WIC-approved food items that can be spilit
with another tender type.




Approved cash register signs

Missouri WIC cards
accepted at this register.

Authorized Retailer

800-835-5465

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.




Upgrade or change
to POS system

 Notify Missouri WIC if your
store upgrades or changes
its POS system.

* Alevel lll certification, or
live shopping in-store test,
IS required.




Activity 2

Let’s play bingo.
 You will be asked questions. Place a chip on the answer to each
guestion.

* A"bingo” pattern is a line of four words vertical, horizontal or
diagonal in a row on the bingo card.

* |If you get bingo, tell the trainer.

OOWO W



Question 1

Who can provide instructions on
WIC produce mapping?



Question 2

What is the process of matching
UPCs of fresh fruits and vegetables
to PLU codes?



Question 3

What shows the benefits being
redeemed during the transaction?



Question 4

A WIC-approved food item that is
allowed to be purchased in different
combinations of approved sizes.



Question 5

WIC transactions cannot be
conducted in this part of a store.



Question 6

Cashiers must complete this
to help WIC customers know
what benefits are on their

WIC card.



Question 7

Cashiers are not allowed to use
the to scan UPCs
during a WIC transaction.




Question 8

Retallers are not allowed to remove
a_ or  codefroma
WIC-approved food item, affix the
code to a non-WIC approved item
and then scan the item.



Question 9

Cashiers must hand all of these to
the WIC customer.



Question 10

are placed under
WIC-approved food items.







Compliance

-

Overt monitoring

« Conducted by state agency personnel.

« Store inspection and price survey.

« Check stocking levels of WIC-approved food items.

* Observation of a WIC transaction.

« Exit interview.
Covert monitoring

« WIC-approved food purchase and investigative report.
WIC sales audit

« Conducted by state agency personnel.



Violations

Retailer federal and state

violations can be found in the
Retailer Manual and at
WIC. Mo.Gov on the retailer

Retailers, Pharmacies and WIC Approved Food

Retailer Application and Forms page :
Manuals

WIC Approved Food

Product Submissions for WIC-Approved Food

Retailer Training
MO WIC Scoop

Retailer Frequently Asked Questions

Health Care Providers v



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/manual/

State violations

The corrective actions required for state violations and the
Increasing severity when those violations are not corrected:

* Initial occurrence of a state violation:
* A written warning notice is issued.

* A corrective action plan (CAP) must be completed by the
retailer.

* 1st occurrence of the same violation within a federal fiscal
year.

 1-3 violations=Retailer will submit a CAP & $25 fine.
« 4+ violations=Retailer will submit a CAP & $50 fine.



State violations

 2nd occurrence of the same violation within a federal fiscal
year.

 1-3 violations=Retailer will submit a CAP, $50 fine and attend
mandatory training.

* 4+ violations=Retailer will submit a CAP, $100 fine and attend
mandatory training.

* 3rd occurrence of the same violation within a federal fiscal
year.

» One year disqualification or civil money penalty imposed.



Corrective action plan

« Violation requires a CAP-must address:
« How the retailer has retrained staff.

« How the store will correct the actions that
resulted in the violation.

 More than one violation may need to be addressed.
 The CAP must be submitted within the time frame stated in the
violation notification.
* Failure to submit the required CAP will result in an immediate

$50 fine without further notice or warning. A $100 fine will be
iIssued for any subsequent failure to submit a CAP.




Civil money penalty (CMP)

« CMPs may be imposed if the state agency determines
disqualification from the program would result in inadequate
participant access to authorized WIC retailers.

* 10% of a retailer’s average monthly WIC redemptions multiplied
by the number of months the retailer would have been
disqualified will determine the amount of the CMP.

 The CMP formula is dictated by federal regulations.



Civil money penalty (CMP)

* |f violations warrant permanent disqualification, the CMP shall be
$16,865 per violation if convicted of trafficking and $16,451 per
violation if convicted of selling firearms, ammunition, explosive, or
controlled substances in exchange for food instruments.

« The maximum penalty up to $67,461 per investigation may be
iImposed when multiple violations are found.

* These amounts were updated February 15, 2022, and could
change as additional notification is received from USDA.



Termination for noncompliance

-
Examples of noncompliance include but are not limited to:
« Exceeding the allowable prices for the pricing peer group.
 Failing to meet the minimum square footage requirements.

 Failing to meet the minimum stocking requirements to be
considered a full-service grocery store.

 Failing to meet any other WIC program selection criteria or
WIC retailer agreement requirements.




Termination for noncompliance

* Having a pattern of providing false or misleading sales
transaction information to the WIC program for reimbursement.

A pattern is defined as four or more previously rejected
WIC card transactions for payment that have been altered.

* Findings from a WIC sales transaction audit during the
period the retailer is under the agreement.

* Failing to pay claims for improperly transacted WIC card
purchases or WIC sales transaction audits.



Termination for noncompliance

To remain authorized in the Missouri WIC program, the retailer
must have a minimum of $300 monthly in WIC sales revenue.

 Failure to maintain this monthly level may result in
removal from the program.

* Reapplication to be an authorized WIC retailer cannot
happen for one year from the date of the agreement
termination.

Note: Pharmacies are exempt from this requirement.



Termination for noncompliance

No WIC sales activity for 60 days may result in termination
from the program.

 Removal from the WIC program due to WIC sales
iInactivity means retailers cannot reapply to be an
authorized WIC retaliler for one year from the
agreement termination date.

Note: Pharmacies are exempt from this requirement.

|
o l\

Sales
» ST

N =
v :

i




Termination for noncompliance

False or misleading sales information:

* The Missouri WIC program will immediately terminate the WIC
Retailer Agreement, disqualifying the retailer, for a pattern of
providing false or misleading sales transaction information to the
WIC program.

A pattern for this violation is three or more covert monitoring
investigative reports where false information has been
supplied.

* Includes fraudulent WIC sales transactions that were submitted

for payment.



Termination for noncompliance

-
False or misleading sales information:

A pattern may also be established due to the retailer
resubmitting four or more previously rejected WIC card
transactions for payment that have been altered, or as the
result of the findings from a WIC sales transaction audit.

* For any instance of a retailer resubmitting a previously rejected
WIC card transaction for payment that has had its date of sale
or the amount of sale altered, the retailer will receive a warning
and a fine of $50. The state penalty for these patterns of
violations is a one-year disqualification.



Claim files




Claim files

* Retailers must submit WIC card claim files for payment at least every
48 hours.

« The Missouri WIC program shall have no obligation to pay any WIC card
redemptions submitted outside of this timeframe.

« Payments are made through an Automated Clearing House (ACH) network
to the bank account provided by the retailer on the direct deposit form.

* Retailers must notify the WIC state agency of any
bank account changes. A new direct deposit form can
be located here: WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer page, under
Retailer Application and Forms.



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/appforms/

Claim files

Retailers will download the Approved
Product List (APL), Hot Card List (HCL),
Auto Reconciliation File (ARF), and
Acknowledgement (ACK) files at least
every 48 hours.

 Failure to do so may result in loss of
payment to the retailer

 |If a Missouri WIC card that is on the
HCL is used to conduct a transaction.

* If a WIC customer is allowed to
purchase a food item that is no longer
on the APL.



Claim files

* Retailer management is required to ensure submission of claim
files to the Missouri WIC program’s banking contractor.

* Regular business practices should be established for submitting
claim files:

* Preferably within 24 hours of the transaction date.

e Claim files submitted before 6:00 a.m. Central Standard
Time (CST) will be processed that day.



Claim files

* The retailer’'s POS system submits the claim file to the Missouri
WIC program’s banking contractor and includes the details of
each WIC transaction.

* An Auto Reconciliation File (ARF) is created if the claim file is
accepted and processed.

A claim file may be processed with transaction and
individual item-level errors. When this occurs, there is a
reduction in payment to the retailer, which is reflected in the
ARF.



Claim files

ONYPAL

If the file claim is not accepted
and cannot be processed an
Acknowledgement (ACK) file is
created.

* The retailer will not be paid
for any portion.

« Changes must be made to
correct errors.

 Claim file may be resubmitted
for payment.



Hot Card List and
Approved Product List

* A current HCL and an APL are downloaded into the retailer’s
system from the Missouri WIC program’s banking contractor.

* The HCL contains cards that have been inactivated for any
reason, including loss, theft or administrative action.

* The APL contains a listing of the WIC-approved food items
(UPCs and PLU codes) approved by the Missouri WIC program.



Payment

« Each banking business day the Missouri WIC program’s
banking contractor initiates the payment process for each
retailer.

 The retailer’s claim file information creates an ACH credit for
that day.

« Claim files received before 6:00 a.m. CST will be processed
following submission on the next banking day. Claim files
submitted after 6:00 a.m. CST will be processed according to
settlement processes.



Claim file errors

e L ate submission.

* |[f a claim has not been submitted within the 48-hour
timeframe, contact the Missouri WIC program on how to
proceed.

* Invalid electronic signature.
 Other transaction errors.
e Late claim file submission is a Missouri state violation.

* Late claim file submission causes an over-redemption of WIC
benefits the retailer will be responsible for paying the amount of
the over-redemption.




Claim file errors £
—Appeal

If you receive an acknowledgment file from the banking processor that
reflects a reduction or no payment and you would like to submit an

appeal for payment consideration:

* The Missouri WIC program must receive a dispute within sixty
(60) days of the claim file transaction date.

* The Appeal Form is located at \WIC.Mo.Gov on the retailer page.

* The Appeal Form must be submitted to
MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov to be considered for
payment.



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/appforms/
mailto:MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov

Claim file not submitted

1. Contact the Missouri WIC program at:
MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov.

2. State agency staff will review the request to see whether the
claim file was received.

a. Contact POS provider.
b. Obtain the claim file name.
c. Provide the claim file name to the state agency staff.



mailto:MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov

Complaint Process

Retailers may submit a Retailer Concern Form:

* For problems, concerns, or suggestions to the Missouri WIC
program or WIC local agency.

* The form may be submitted by email to:
MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov.

The form can be found on our website located at: \WIC.Mo.Gov
on the retailer page, under retailer application and forms.



mailto:MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov
https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/appforms/

Ordering WIC supplies

Order supplies through
WIC.Mo.Gov. Click on Retailer
Resource Order Form. Approved

. Door decals. Food List
* WIC shelf tags. Y ol

 Retailer Guide for
Managers and Cashiers.

* Approved Food List.
* Register quick guide.

MISSOU RI

‘WIC

APPROVED

Authorized Retailer

800-835-5465



https://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/wicretailer/

Changes to the MO WIC program

Missouri WIC will soon become an online state.

« Missouri WIC will be working with your
POS provider on this process.

« Changes you will see when Missouri WIC
goes online:
* No more claim files.
» Retailers will be paid automatically.

» Customers will swipe their WIC card
instead of inserting the card in the PIN pad.




Training forms

 Retailer Training Checklist and ) cucexusrasionarne OB

Signature form.
 Retailer Train the Trainer form.

L L) wendor. Retailers oot allowed to offer incentive items soley ta
. F— - . WIC Custnmers.
Regquiremnents to attend traimings and train store

= nink allowed toomse quantity key.

SETORE REPREEENTATIVE AT TRAINING

Use of WIC Register Sign only on registers that accept
Purpose of the WIC propram. _ R g ¥ ! e

emplayess,
WIC costomeers allowed o purchase combinations of

il List and WiCshopper

provide to your employees_ S S

Location.

proenotions are allowed. o L
Obtain imfant formuls anly from approved. distributors

Retxiler Manual & Manaper Cashier Manual wehsite

ar esales on the WIC state agency

 Train your employees within e | U
one month of your training.

WIC procedures inchsdivgg, but not limdted in:

change and store dosure.

benefit reversals (WIC voids).

Repartieg of complaings.

balance inguiry.

Mnmitoring Types: overt, covert, amd WiG sales
it

@lc:

I acknowledge that [ have received training on the above information. T willfully
acknowledge that the items checked above were covered in the training material
and I will train other staff in the store of what I learned today.

WIC tramsactions.

']

Understanding receipts.

Erpors and troubleshooting tps.

Acknowledgement:

STORE REFRESENTATIVE

STORE REFRESENTATIVE \ DATE
STATE WIC TRAINER SIGNATURE DATE




Questions




Contact information

Missouri Department of Health and
Senior Services, WIC and Nutrition
Services

P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570

Phone: 573-751-6204
Fax: 573-526-1470

Email:
MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov



mailto:MOWICVendorGroup@health.mo.gov

Stand-beside device

WIC transactions using a
stand-beside device.




Stand-beside device

1. The WIC customer separates
WIC-approved items from non-WIC
items.

I 2. The customer inserts the WIC card into
the stand-beside device before
scanning the items.

3. The customer enters their PIN.




Stand-beside device

4. The cashier will then:
a. Scan all items into the electronic cash register system.

b. Scan WIC-approved food products with the stand-beside
device.

c. Weigh and scan produce last

a. Enter 4-digit or 5-digit PLU (4469/94469).
d. Enter the price of the produce into the stand-beside device.



Stand-beside device

Welcome to My Grocery Store!
5. Two receipts will print: P
° BeC“nnlnq Balance Rece|pt_ Beginning Benefit Balance
) PAN: 0590 State: MO
shows the benefits the v Uom  Descripton
customer has available at the 100  DOZ  EGGS
. . . 1.00 GAL MILK - REDUCED FAT
beginning of the transaction. 100 CTR  LEGUMES
14.50 oy4 BREAKFAST CEREAL
* Redemption Receipt-shows 1100 $55 FRUIT& VEGETABLE CASH VA
the benefits being redeemed
. ] Redeemed WIC Items
during the transaction. PAN: 0590 State: MO
. QTyY UoM Description
 The customer should review  |-------mmommmmmmamire e
. . . 0.00 DOZ EGGS
the receipts before confirming 0.00  GAL  MILK - REDUCED FAT
- 1.00 CTR LEGUMES
the WIC transaCtlon' 14.50 OV4 BREAKFAST CEREAL
2.00 CTR 11.5-12 OZ FROZEN JUICE

6.31 SSS FRUIT & VEGETABLE CASH VA




Stand-beside device

If the customer has an item that they
believe is WIC-approved, but it is not
shown on the Redemption Receipt, it

may be because:
* The item is not an approved item
in the WIC APL.
* The customer does not have that
food item benefit available on
their card.




Stand-beside device

-
* The customer will be prompted to press OK, YES, ENTER or
NO (Cancel) on the PIN pad.
* OK, YES or ENTER-The transaction will be approved.

* NO (Cancel)-The transaction will be opened so the
cashier can remove items, If needed.

* |If the customer presses the OK, YES or ENTER key on the PIN
pad, the transaction will be approved and an “Ending Balance”
receipt will print and should be given to the customer.



Thank you!
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