
Critical Congenital Heart 
Disease Screening and Reporting 

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 
November 9, 2017 



Congenital Heart Defects (CHD): 
Critical Congenital Heart Defects 
(CCHD): 

• Present at birth and can affect 
the structure of a baby’s heart 
and the way it works, varying 
from mild to severe.  

• Affect approximately 1% of, or 
about 40,000,  births per year in 
the United States. 

• Most common type of birth 
defect. 

• Leading cause of birth defect-
associated infant illness and 
death. 

 

• Specific CHDs which require 
surgery or catheter intervention 
within the first year of life. 

• About 1 in every 4 babies born 
with a heart defect has a CCHD. 

• Typically lead to low levels of 
oxygen in the newborn and may 
be identified by pulse oximetry at 
24 hours of age. 

 

CHD vs. CCHD 



Screening Background/Timeline 

2009 
• AHA/AAP Statement 

2010 
• SACHDNC recommended adding CCHD Screening to the RUSP 

2011 
• Work group publication, guidelines endorsed by AAP, AHA, ACCF 
• Endorsement from HHS Secretary to add CCHD screening to the RUSP 

2012 
• Survey of Missouri hospitals 

2013 
• Missouri Legislation passed - “Chloe’s Law” 

2014 
• CCHD screening required for all babies in Missouri 



Chloe’s Law 
 191.334 Revised Statutes of Missouri 
 Every newborn born in Missouri must be screened for 

CCHD beginning January 1, 2014. 
 Screening shall be done by pulse ox or in another manner as 

directed by the department in accordance with AAP and 
AHA guidelines. 
 Results shall be reported to the parents or guardians and to 

the department in a manner prescribed by the department 
for surveillance purposes. 
 Facilities/Individuals shall develop and implement plans to 

ensure that newborns with a positive screen receive 
appropriate confirmatory procedures and referral for 
treatment as indicated. 

 



Voluntary Aggregate Reporting 
 Number of Newborns 

Screened 
 

 Number with a Negative 
Screen (Pass) 

 

 Number with a Positive 
Screen (Fail) 

 

 Number Not Screened 
◦ Prenatal CCHD diagnosis 
◦ Condition Unstable 
◦ Parents Refused 
◦ Transferred 
◦ Expired 



19 CSR 40-12.010 
 Final rules for CCHD screening have been filed with the 

Secretary of State. 
 Will become effective November 30, 2017. 
 Rules establish screening guidelines and provide 

direction for the reporting of screening results. 
 Requires screening to be done by pulse ox in 

accordance with AAP and AHA guidelines. 
 Requires all screening results and refusals to be 

reported utilizing either the Missouri Electronic Vital 
Records (MoEVR) system or paper form. 

 Screening results must be reported within 30 calendar 
days of completion of CCHD screening.  



Screening Guidelines 
 Recommended guidelines endorsed by the AAP and 

AHA. 
◦ Kemper, A., et al.  (2011).  Strategies for implementing 

screening for critical congenital heart disease.  Pediatrics, vol 
128 no. 5, pp e1259-e1267. 
 Article can be found at www.health.mo.gov/cchd 
 

http://www.health.mo.gov/cchd


Measurement #1 
Pulse Ox on Right Hand (RH) and One Foot  After 24 hours of Age 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less in 

either the RH or foot.  
Action:  Do Not 

Repeat Screening, 
Refer for Immediate 

Assessment. 

RETEST 
Pulse ox of 90-94% in 

both the RH and foot OR 
a difference of 4% or 

more between the RH 
and foot.  Action:  

Repeat pulse ox in 1 
hour. 

PASS   
Pulse ox of 95% or more in 

the RH or foot AND 
difference of 3% or less 

between the two.  Action:  
Do Not Repeat 

Screening, Provide 
Normal Newborn Care. 

Screening Guidelines 



Screening Guidelines 

Measurement #2 
Pulse Ox on Right Hand (RH) and One Foot 1 Hour After Measurement #1 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less in 

either the RH or foot.  
Action:  Do Not 

Repeat Screening, 
Refer for Immediate 

Assessment. 

RETEST 
Pulse ox of 90-94% in 

both the RH and foot OR 
a difference of 4% or 

more between the RH 
and foot.  Action:  

Repeat pulse ox in 1 
hour. 

PASS   
Pulse ox of 95% or more in 

the RH or foot AND 
difference of 3% or less 

between the two.  Action:  
Do Not Repeat 

Screening, Provide 
Normal Newborn Care. 



Screening Guidelines 

Measurement #3 
Pulse Ox on Right Hand (RH) and One Foot 1 Hour After Measurement #2 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less in 

either the RH or foot.  
Action:  Do Not 

Repeat Screening, 
Refer for Immediate 

Assessment. 

RETEST 
Pulse ox of 90-94% in 

both the RH and foot OR 
a difference of 4% or 

more between the RH 
and foot.  Action:  Do 

Not Repeat, Refer for 
Clinical Assessment. 

PASS   
Pulse ox of 95% or more in 

the RH or foot AND 
difference of 3% or less 

between the two.  Action:  
Do Not Repeat 

Screening, Provide 
Normal Newborn Care. 



Age at Screening 
 CCHD screening should be performed at 24 to 48 

hours of age. 
◦ False positives are significantly higher when screening is 

done prior to 24 hours of age. 

 

<24 
hours 

False 
Positives 



Screening Sites 
 Screening should be performed on the right hand (pre-

ductal) AND either foot (post-ductal) 

 

RH application site Foot application site 



MoEVR 
The Missouri Electronic Vital Records (MoEVR) system is an online 
data entry system used to support the registration of Missouri vital 
events for the DHSS and other users such as birthing facilities, 
attending physicians, funeral directors, and medical examiners. 



• To access the MoEVR 
website, the application 
form, Vital Records User 
Access Request, must be 
completed by the applicant 
and approved by the 
Bureau of Vital Records. 
 

• To obtain this form, you will 
need to contact the Bureau 
of  Vital Records either by 
o phone at 573-526-0348 or  
o email at 

moevrsupport@health.mo.gov. 
 

• Vital Records will not 
process requests for access 
to CCHD data entry until 
November 30th. 

mailto:moevrsupport@health.mo.gov


Logging into MoEVR 
 The web address to log into MoEVR is: 

https://moevr.dhss.mo.gov/moevr/gui/login/welcomeMO.jsp. 

 

https://moevr.dhss.mo.gov/moevr/gui/login/welcomeMO.jsp


Logging into MoEVR 
1 2 

3 4 



Where to go next… 



Searching for Records 

• The information provided in this form will be used to 
search birth records from your facility only. 

• Birth certificate data must be entered into the MoEVR 
system prior to this time in order for the baby’s 
information to be located.  

 



Searching for Records 

• A list of records will be shown.  The child’s first and last 
name, date of birth, sex, and mother’s maiden name will 
appear on the screen. 

• If your search criteria were broad, you may have a longer 
list of names to choose from. 

• Click on “Details” 



Searching for Records 

• This screen gives you the opportunity to review the record 
to ensure it is the correct baby.   

• After verifying that you have the correct record, click 
“Continue.” 



Documenting Screening Results 

• “Cover page” for the data entry screens. 
• You can navigate the data entry screens one of two ways: 

o Tabs at top of page 
o Buttons at bottom of page 

• Click “Next.”  Do not click the finish button until you have 
entered in all screening data.  



Documenting Screening Results 

• This is the hearing screening data entry screen.   
• If you do not have access to hearing screening data entry, 

you will not be able to manipulate the fields in this screen.  
• Click on “Next.”  



Documenting Screening Results 

• You must first document if screening was completed. 
• Boxes that are yellow cannot be manipulated. 
• Based on your documentation, certain fields will turn white 

to allow for further data entry. 



Documenting Screening Results 

• Please utilize the comments box to provide any clarifying 
information applicable to the baby’s screening or disposition. 

• Once all applicable data fields have been completed, click 
“Finish.” 

• Do not click Cancel.  All data will be lost and you will have to 
start over. 



Documenting Screening Results 

• “Repeat Task” – click to go back to the Registrant entry 
screen to search for another record 

• “Main Menu” – this will take you back to the very beginning 







Next Steps 
 Rules become effective November 30, 2017. 
 After Rules are effective, additional information will be 

posted on the DHSS CCHD screening web page:  
www.health.mo.gov/cchd. 
◦ Final Rules for 19 CSR 40-12.010  
◦ Link to MoEVR 
◦ MoEVR Reporting User Manual 
◦ Paper reporting form 

 Hospitals will need to determine who will be responsible 
for data entry.  After November 30th, those individuals will 
need to submit requests for MoEVR CCHD data entry 
access. 

 After receiving approval, they can begin entering 
screening data into MoEVR. 
 

 

 

http://www.health.mo.gov/cchd


Contact Info 
 

Jami Kiesling, RN, BSN 
Newborn Screening Program 
Bureau of Genetics and Healthy Childhood 
jami.kiesling@health.mo.gov 
573-751-6266 
 

mailto:jami.kiesling@health.mo.gov
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