

Missouri Minor Consent Laws

The laws below can be found in the Missouri Revised Statutes (indicated by § below). Interpretations of these statutes are up to the provider or health care system. This summary should not be construed as legal advice. For questions or guidance, legal advice should be obtained.

Missouri Law

- Those 13 years old and younger cannot consent to sex with anyone (§566.067).
- 14, 15 and 16 year olds cannot consent to sex with someone who is more than 4 years older (§566.071) or who is 21 and older (§566.034).
- 17 year olds can consent to sex with anyone 14 years or older (§566.034).

Guidelines for Reporting Sexual Abuse or Activity



Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline: 800-392-3738

The Children's Division Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline is a toll-free number that operates 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Health.Mo.Gov



Specific Provisions

Minors can consent to certain things for themselves, including but not necessarily limited to:

Pregnancy Related Care MO Statute §431.061(4)(a)

 Any minor may consent to any medical, surgical, or other treatment or procedures in case of pregnancy, excluding abortion.

Minor Parent

MO Statute §§431.065.1 & 431.061(2) and (3)

• Any minor parent or legal custodian is considered an adult for the purpose of entering into a contract for surgical, medical, or other treatment or procedure for themselves and their child in their legal custody.

Sexual Assault Examination

MO Statute §595.220(2)

 Minor consenting to forensic examination: A minor may consent to examination under section 595.220(2). Such consent is not subject to disaffirmance because of minority, and consent of parent or guardian of the minor is not required for such examination. The appropriate medical provider making the examination shall give written notice to the parent or guardian of a minor that such an examination has taken place.

Blood Donation Age

• MO Statute §431.068

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

- MO Statute §431.061(4)(c)
- MO Statute §431.062

Emergency Care

- MO Statute §431.063
- MO Statute §431.062

HIV/AIDS Care

- MO Statute §191.656(2)
- MO Statute §191.659
- MO Statute §191.689

Inpatient Mental Health Services

- MO Statute §632.110
- MO Statute §632.155

Married Minor

- MO Statute §431.065
- MO Statute §431.061(3)

Minor Living Apart

MO Statute §431.056

STD (Venereal Disease) Care

- MO Statute §431.061(4)(b)
- MO Statute §431.062