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age, must be screened on an annual basis by

the lead information questionnaire (HCY Lead

Universal Testing - Annual testing for all children less than 6 years of age.

Risk Assessment Guide) to determine whether See Area-Specific Map Targeted Testing - Annual testing of MO HealthNet children at 12 and 24 months of age and children
R . Testing Designation spending mare than 10 hours per week in a Universal Testing area. Annual screening
they are at high risk. [ Universal Testing (High Risk) questionnaire available at: http://health.mo.gov/living/environment/lead/guidelines.phj
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As additional, more accuraie data is obtained, Universal Testing areas may change.

be at hlgh risk shall be tested for lead. Re-evaluation of areas will be completed to further define ZIP codes that require universal
or targeted testing. Updated maps are published each April and are available at:
e It is recommended that all children be tested htip://health.mo.gov/living/environment/lead/maps.php
for lead at 12 and 24 months of age. Please note any updates to your service area as it may change your requirements under

statute. Please see area specific maps for Jackson County, Kansas City, St. Louis County,
and Southeast Missouri for Universal Testing areas by ZIP code.




Statewide Reguirements

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS)/Missouri Department of
Social Services, Division of MO HealthNet
requires:

e A blood lead test at 12 and 24 months
of age for all MO HealthNet
(Medicaid) eligible children.

e Immediate blood lead testing of any MO
HealthNet child 12 to 72 months of age
who does not have a documented blood
lead test.

e Re-evaluation of all children less than 6
years of age, for risk of lead poisoning
at health care visits. The HCY Lead Risk
Assessment Guide is the universal
assessment tool. Conduct a blood lead
test for those found to have one positive
response to the verbal questionnaire.

The Childhood Blood Lead Testing and
Follow-up Guidelines can be found at:
www.health.mo.gov/ChildhoodLead/
Guidelines.html.

Results Management

e All test results shall be reported to the
Missouri Department of Health and
Senior Services.

e Case management begins with elevated
levels 10 mcg/dL or greater capillary or
venous.

e Environmental management begins with
elevated venous levels 15 mcg/dL or
greater.

Pregnant Women

All pregnant women should be screened at
their first visit using the self-administered
Prenatal Assessment Questionnaire. One
positive response indicates a lead poisoning
risk and the woman should have a blood
lead test.

What You Can Do

Health Care Providers can identify children with
lead poisoning by following the lead testing
requirements within the regulation 19 CSR 20-
8.030. Prevent childhood lead poisoning by
encouraging parents and caregivers to:

1. Be aware of Missouri’s regulations and
requirements concerning lead testing and
screening.

2. Test or screen children under 6 years of
age on an annual basis.

3. Wash children’s hands and toys often.

4. Keep homes clean.

5. Feed children a diet high in calcium, iron
and vitamin C.

6. Keep a record of the blood lead testing
on the child’s immunization record.

For more information on childhood lead poisoning
prevention visit the following links:

MO Department of Health and Senior Services:
health.mo.gov/living/environment/lead/index.php

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:
www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead

Environmental Protection Agency:
www.epa.gov/lead/index.html

Consumer Product Safety Commission:
www.cpsc.gov for recall information

Lead Free Kids:
www.leadfreekids.org/index.html
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