Missouri Adoptee Rights Act
Governor Nixon signed House Bill 1599 on July 1, 2016. The bill allows an adult adoptee or the adoptee’s attorney to request an uncertified copy of the adoptee’s original (prior to adoption) birth certificate. This law takes effect on August 28, 2016.
Under this law, adoptees born before 1941 can request a copy of their original birth certificate beginning August 28, 2016. Adoptees born in and after 1941 can request a copy of their original birth certificate beginning January 1, 2018. On October 1, 2017, the Bureau of Vital Records (BVR) began accepting applications for adoptees wanting a copy of their original birth certificate. The certificates will not be provided until after January 2, 2018, but early submittal will allow BVR to research the request in advance. To make a request, an adoptee shall complete the Application for Non-Certified Copy of an Original Birth Certificate form and pay a non-refundable $15 fee. The adoptee should allow between 3 to 6 months from the date of submitting their application to receive their original birth certificate due to the demand for these records and the research required to find and process these records.
The Missouri Adoptee Rights Act can be found here: http://www.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills161/billpdf/truly/HB1599T.PDF.
On Monday, August 29, 2016, the Department of Health and Senior Services filed an emergency rule and a proposed rule implementing the Act. Anyone who wishes to comment on the proposed rule can do so by following the instructions at the end of the rule.