Frequently Asked Questions

Some of the more frequently asked questions (FAQ) in EMS involve the relicensure procedure. This objective is to identify those questions and answer them.

How many CEU'S do I need to relicense in Missouri?
What do you mean by core hours?
Am I required to be Nationally Registered to work in Missouri?
Can I work in Missouri with just a National Registry Card?
If my license has been expired for 1 year, do I need to repeat the entire program?
What if there are no refresher courses in my area?
Can EMT-Basics attend advanced level classes and get CEU's?
How about credit for teaching?
Can I get all of my CEU's off the Internet?
Can an EMT-Basic perform blood glucose analysis?

Outside the Hospital Do-Not-Resuscitate Order

How many CEU's do I need to relicense in Missouri?
Paramedics need 144 hours, 96 of which are core. EMT-Basics need 100, 48 of which are core.

What do you mean by core hours?
Core hours are those identified from the respective National Standard Curriculum for refresher programs. Paramedic refreshers are 48 hours and Basic refreshers are 24 hours in length for a 2-year period. Since Missouri licenses for 5 years, double that and you get the numbers, 96 and 48. This assures that all Basics and Paramedics in Missouri, whether Nationally Registered or not, meet the same core requirements.

Am I required to be Nationally Registered to work in Missouri?
Yes and no. If you were licensed in Missouri on August 28, 1998, you would maintain your license with CEU's. If you completed training in Missouri after August 28, 1998, you should have tested with the National Registry. Anyone coming from another state must become Nationally Registered and then apply for a license in Missouri. Once licensed, you are not required by the Bureau of EMS to maintain National Registry.

Can I work in Missouri with just a National Registry Card?
No, Missouri law requires all levels of Emergency Medical Technicians to be licensed. This is both Basic and Paramedics. It does not matter where an EMT is employed; they must be licensed to perform as an EMT.

If my license has been expired for 1 year, do I need to repeat the entire program?
No. If you have been expired less than 2 years, you need to submit the required application and documents. There is no "grace period" You cannot work after your license has expired. If you have been expired over two years, EMT-Basics must complete the entire program and testing. Paramedics must complete the National Registry Re-entry requirements, which includes a paramedic refresher or equivalent CEU's, ACLS, PHTLS or BTLS, the practical and written exams, plus a letter from the EMS Office of the state you want to practice in.

What if there are no refresher courses in my area?
You are not required to attend a refresher. You just have to obtain the required training and hours, how that is accomplished will vary. This gives provider latitude in the relicensure and training process. Core hours can be obtained in many different classes that EMT's attend now.

Can EMT-Basics attend advanced level classes and get CEU's?
Yes. Any class that meets or exceeds the EMT-B can be used for CEU credit. The EMT-Basic must remember that any skill they learn cannot be performed. Even though they get credit for the knowledge, they must perform within the scope of their license as an EMT-Basic.

How about credit for teaching?
You get 1:1 credit for teaching; one CEU for every hour taught. Credit is not given for teaching First Responder, and Paramedics do not get core hours for teaching EMT-Basic. If an EMT-Basic teaches a complete EMT-B program, all continuing education guidelines are met. The same is true for Paramedic instructors, if they teach an entire program; their entire requirements for the 5-year period are met.

Can I get all of my CEU's off the Internet?
Yes. Any distant learning course must be Missouri Bureau of EMS accredited or CECBEMS approved.

Can an EMT-Basic perform blood glucose analysis?
Yes. They must have completed the course of training required by the Bureau of EMS, the agency they work for must have documentation of that training on file, the agency medical director must have approved protocols and allow the practice, and when relicensing, the EMT must provide proof of that training. If you have specific questions, you may contact your local Bureau of EMS representative in your area, or you can contact the Jefferson City office at (573) 751-6369.