
  
 

        
      

  

 

 
 

 

  
     

 

 
 

 
     

 
 

       
 

 
 

 
  
 
 

   
  

   
  

  
  

 
  

 
 

 
  

   
 

 
 

     
    

   
  

 
 

    
  

  

  
  

 
   

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 
P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570   Phone: 573-751-6400   FAX: 573-751-6010 
RELAY MISSOURI for Hearing and Speech Impaired and Voice dial: 711 

Randall W. Williams, MD, FACOG Michael L. Parson 
Director Governor 

August 6, 2020 

As Director of the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (“Department”), pursuant to 
Executive Order 20-12, I am vested with the authority to temporarily waive or suspend the operation of 
any statutory requirement or administrative rule, upon approval of the Office of the Governor. After 
consultation with and receiving approval from the Office of the Governor, I am hereby waiving the 
following laws in order to assist the state, and its citizens prepare and respond to COVID-19 until 
December 30, 2020, unless otherwise modified by the Department. 

Waivers relating to the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services 
EMT-Paramedic Training Entities 

19 CSR 30-40.331(2)(L)3 shall be waived to the extent that EMT-Paramedic students are required to 
complete 250 clinical hours in a healthcare facility as part of the minimum EMT-Paramedic course 
requirements. The EMT-Paramedic training programs, specifically the medical directors and program 
directors, shall instead ensure entry-level competence of EMT-Paramedic students that is consistent with 
the guidelines issued by the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for EMS 
Professionals (CoAEMSP) in lieu of the EMT-Paramedic students completing 250 clinical hours in a 
healthcare facility. This waiver shall apply only to current EMT-Paramedic students as of the date of 
the waiver who have completed all didactic portions of the program and have met all required 
competencies. 

19 CSR 30-40.331(2)(L)1 shall be waived to the extent that EMT-Paramedic students are required to 
complete 250 hours of clinical experience in a clinical setting with a Missouri licensed ambulance 
service as part of the minimum EMT-Paramedic course requirements. The EMT-Paramedic training 
programs, specifically the medical directors and program directors, shall instead ensure entry-level 
competence of EMT-Paramedic students that is consistent with the guidelines issued by the Committee 
on Accreditation of Educational Programs for EMS Professionals (CoAEMSP) in lieu of the EMT-
Paramedic students completing 250 hours of clinical experience in a clinical setting with a Missouri 
licensed ambulance service. This waiver shall apply only to current EMT-Paramedic students as of the 
date of the waiver who have completed all didactic portions of the program and have met all required 
competencies. 

www.health.mo.gov 

Healthy Missourians for life. 
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services will be the leader in promoting, protecting and partnering for health. 

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY / AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER: Services provided on a nondiscriminatory basis. 

http://www.health.mo.gov/


  

     
  

 
  

  
   

 
 
 
        
        
          

 

__________________________________ 

19 CSR 30-40.800(2)(A)3 shall be waived to the extent that applicants for the EMT-CP certification are 
required to complete at least forty (40) hours of clinical experience in a clinical setting. The medical 
directors for community paramedic programs shall instead ensure entry-level competence of the EMT-
CP applicants by using different evaluation methods suitable to the EMT-CP certification in lieu of the 
EMT-CP completing at least forty (40) hours of clinical experience in a clinical setting. This waiver 
shall apply only to current students of community paramedic programs as of the date of the waiver who 
have completed all didactic portions of the program and have met all required competencies. 

Randall W. Williams, MD, FACOG 
Director 


