The following are criteria for primary
care practitioners only:

® Must provide services in an area of
defined need or shortage area

e  Must provide services to Medicaid
patients

e Must enter into an appropriate
agreement with the state Children’s
Health Insurance Program to provide
service to children under Title XXI

e Must provide a sliding fee scale for the
uninsured. This scale must be posted in
a public area
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Healthy Missourians for life.

Print an application form at:

www.dhss.mo.gov/LoanRepayment/
Form.pdf

For more information contact:

Office of Primary Care
and Rural Health

Missouri Department of

Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751-6219 or 800-891-7415
Fax: 573-522-8146

Alternate forms of this publication for persons with
disabilities may be obtained by contacting the Missouri
Department of Health and Senior Services at
573-751-6219.

Hearing and speech impaired citizens telephone
1-800-735-2966. VOICE 1-800-735-2466.

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY/AFFIRMATIVE
ACTION EMPLOYER
Services provided on a nondiscriminatory basis.
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I'm glad I applied for the health

professional loan repayment!

Missouri Department of Health
and Senior Services

Office of Primary Care
and Rural Health




Health Professional Shortage Definition

What is a Health Professional

Shortage Area?

ealth Professional(s)
H Shortage Area means any
of the following which

the Secretary of Health and
Human Services determines has a

shortage of health professional(s):

e An urban or rural
area (which need not
conform to the
geographic boundaries
of a political subdivision and
which is a rational area for
the delivery of health ser-
vices)

e A population group

e A public or nonprofit
private medical facility

http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/shortage
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What is the Health
Professional Loan
Repayment Program?

he Health Professional
Loan Repayment Program
is the repayment of

outstanding educational loans in
exchange for providing primary
health care services in areas of
need in Missouri. A minimum
of two-years is required.

The Missouri Department of
Health and Senior Services
provides loan repayment to
registered and advanced practice
nurses, physicians and dentists.

www.dhss.mo.gov/

LoanRepayment/Form.pdf

| Loan Repayment

ona

/)

Health Profess

4 - B I I

What are the maximum
loan repayment amounts?

e $25,000 per year for primary
care physicians and dentists

e $10,000 per year for primary
care advanced practice nurses

e $5,000 per year for primary

care registered nurses
What are the qualifications?

e Must be a United States
citizen

® Must have qualifying
employment as stated in
Missouri Revised Statute
333.245

e Must be employed at least
40 hours per week, and no
more than 8 of those hours
per week can be devoted to
practice-related administrative
activities



