Missouri Booster Seat Law: Effective August 28, 2006
Missouri’s Child Passenger Restraint new law requires children who have outgrown a child safety seat to be secured in a booster seat while traveling in a motor vehicle.
The new law now requires:
- Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds to be in an appropriate child safety seat.
- Children age 4 and older to be secured in a booster seat until they turn 8 years old, unless they reach 80 pounds or 4’9” before that birthday; and
- Children weighing more than 80 pounds or taller than 4’9” are required to be secured by a vehicle safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.
However the best practice is to assure children remain in a booster seat until they reach a height of 4’9”. The fine for violating this law is $50 plus court costs, which far exceeds the cost of many booster seats. This legislation is expected to save the lives of more than 30 children a year, and is expected to reduce a child’s risk of injury by 59 percent. For more information visit: http://www.nhtsa.gov/portal/site/nhtsa/menuitem.9f8c7d6359e0e9bbbf30811060008a0c/