Professional Registration Courses

Onsite Wastewater Treatment

DHSS Onsite Wastewater Treatment Program - Basic OWTS Installers Course

Locations: Jefferson City, Missouri
Pre-registration fee - $300.00*
*For additional $5.00, course material may be mailed prior to training.
Classes are limited to 30 participants and may be canceled for low registration.

This two-day training course is for individuals to become registered as basic onsite wastewater treatment system (OWTS) installers with the state of Missouri. Classes are held as needed, based on demand and are conducted by staff of the Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS). Subjects covered include health and safety issues, the onsite sewage laws and rules, the permit process, soils, math, and conventional onsite systems. The operation of construction equipment will not be covered. An exam will be given at the end of the course. Successful individuals will receive an ID card and be placed on the Registered Installers Lists, which will be made available to county administrative authorities and made available to homeowners upon request. A limited number of slots are available at no cost for state and county staff. Successful state and county staff will receive a training certificate; however, their name will not be included on the published list of registered installers. The registration fee must be paid at time of application and covers the cost of a manual, other training items, and the facilities.

For more information or to receive a course application, contact the Onsite Wastewater Treatment Program at PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or by phone at (573)-751-6095.

DHSS Onsite Wastewater Treatment Program - Advanced OWTS Installer Course (10 CEUs)

Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Pre-registration fee - $200.00
Classes are limited to 30 participants and may be canceled for low registration.

This two-day training course is for individuals to become registered to install advanced onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS). Individuals who are not registered as basic OWTS installers in good standing, must first complete the Basic OWTS Installer Course. Classes are held as needed, based on demand, and are conducted by staff of the Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS). Subjects covered include advanced treatment systems, soils, math, and pressure distribution, low-pressure pipe (LPP) distribution systems, and drip irrigation systems. The operation of construction equipment will not be covered. An exam will be given at the end of the course. Successful individuals will have an indication on their installer ID card to show Advanced Registration and it will be noted on the Registered Installers Lists. Lists will also be made available to county administrative authorities and homeowners upon request. A limited number of slots are available at no cost for state and county staff. Successful state and county staff will receive a training certificate; however, their name will not be included on the published list of registered installers. The registration fee must be paid at time of application and covers the cost of training material and the facilities.

Ten (10.0) Continuing Education Units (CEU) for selected department criteria will be credited when you successfully complete the course and pass the examination. Partial credit will be allowed if you do not pass the examination.

For more information or to receive a course application, contact the Onsite Wastewater Treatment Program at PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or by phone at (573)-751-6095.

University of Missouri Licensed Onsite System Inspectors/Evaluators Course

Location: University of Missouri Bradford Research and Extension Center, Columbia, Missouri
                University of Missouri Southwest Center, Mt. Vernon, Missouri
Pre-registration fee - $320.00
Non-refundable Processing fee with Application for Licensure to DHSS - $90.00
Classes are limited to 35 participants (minimum 20) and may be canceled for low registration.
Prerequisite: successful completion of the Registered Installers course

This two-day course is designed for individuals to become licensed to conduct third party assessments of existing onsite sewage systems related to real estate sales. Classes are held about two times per year and are conducted by staff of the University of Missouri and the Missouri Department of Natural Resources. Subjects covered include health and safety issues, well construction, water tracing, math, system function and detailed inspection forms. An exam will be given at the end of the course. Successful individuals will receive a licensed inspector's photo ID card upon receipt of Application for Licensure with processing fee and be placed on the Licensed Inspectors Lists. Lists will also be made available to lending institutions and homeowners upon request. The registration fee must be paid with course registration and covers the cost of a manual, other training items, the facilities, and lunch.

For more information, or to receive a course registration form, contact the Onsite Wastewater Treatment Program at PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or by phone at (573)-751-6095.

MU Extension and Outreach Percolation Tester Registration Training

Location: Johnson County Extension Center, Warrensburg, Missouri
Pre-registration fee - $160.00
Non-refundable Processing fee with Application for Registration to DHSS - $90.00

This course, presented in two one-half day sessions is designed for individuals to obtain registration to conduct soil percolation tests for determining soil absorption qualities at sites being considered for installation of onsite wastewater treatment systems. The course is offered on an as needed basis, generally once each year and is conducted by individuals with MU Extension that have been certified as instructors through the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS). Subjects covered in this course include functions of soils; number, location, depth, and preparation of test holes; soil swelling; percolation rate measurements; and equipment. An exam will be given at the end of the course. Successful individuals will receive a Registered Percolation Tester ID card upon receipt of Application for Registration with processing fee and be placed on the Registered Percolation Tester List, which will be provided to county administrative authorities and made available to property owners upon request.

For additional information contact the Johnson County Extension Center, 135 W. Market, Warrensburg, Missouri, 64093, phone (660) 747-3193.