Skip to content

Missouri’s Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Attestation Now Open

Missouri’s Medicaid EHR Incentive Program is now accepting attestation information. As of June 1, eligible professionals and hospitals can apply for Medicaid incentive payments.

For those already registered with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the next step is to set up an account on MO HealthNet’s secure website, and follow the instructions. Over 45 hospitals and 350 professionals have already registered with CMS. Worksheets are posted on the Web site to help providers gather the needed information to demonstrate eligibility for the program, including patient volume and EHR certification. Providers are encouraged to utilize the worksheets to calculate payments and to ensure you have all the required information needed to apply for the incentive program.

MO HealthNet will offer demonstrations of the new system during weekly webinars throughout June, beginning the week of June 6th. Those session dates will be posted on MO HealthNet’s Web site and are a perfect opportunity to become more familiar with the system and to ask questions. Those who need one-on-one support with the process can access phone consultation service (866) 879-0109.

On a related note, in April, CMS announced an amendment to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. The Extenders Act changed the requirements for an Eligible Professional (EP) to demonstrate the “net average allowable costs,” the contributions from other sources, and the 15 percent provider contribution to participate in the Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Payment Program. The Extenders Act amended the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program by allowing for providers to simply document and attest that they have adopted, implemented, upgraded or meaningfully used certified EHR technology, while allowing CMS to set these average costs. Prior to the Extenders Act, Medicaid eligible professionals who wanted to participate in the EHR Incentive Payment Program were required to provide documentation of certain costs related to acquiring and implementing certified EHR technology. Read the announcement.

For information on the Medicaid and Medicare EHR incentive programs, EHR adoption, or how the MO HIT Assistance Center helps health care providers adopt and achieve meaningful use of certified EHRs, please visit the Missouri Health Information Technology Assistance Center Web site, E-mail us, or call us toll-free 1-877-882-9933.

A federal subsidy is currently available to cover $5,000 of the $5,750 fee for eligible Missouri priority primary care providers. Missouri Health Information Technology Assistance Center is quickly approaching Missouri’s maximum number of 1,167 subsidized memberships. Interested providers are encouraged to contact the MO HIT Assistance Center as soon as possible.

This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.